Florida Dui Laws was last modified: March 21st, 2018 by Howard Iken

florida dui laws

Dui Laws in Florida


 

Video ThumbnailAttorney Bruce Przepis discusses what makes us different

Regardless of where you live within the State of Florida, being convicted of driving under the influence can have serious and sometimes life-altering legal repercussions.  In fact, Florida’s DUI laws are some of the strictest in the country and can dramatically affect someone’s life without the assistance of effective legal counsel.  For example, an allegedly drunk driver may face a DUI-related arrest if a Florida police officer believes that they are too impaired to drive; this is regardless of how much alcohol the person actually consumed.

 

Moreover, a driver who is aged 21 or older will likely be arrested if their blood alcohol dui in floridalevel, or BAL, exceeds the state limit of 0.08%.  For those who are under 21, a BAL of 02% can also lead to an arrest.  With regard to commercial drivers, they will probably face arrest if stopped with a BAL of 0.04% or greater. Keep in mind that even when a driver is not noticeably impaired, a Breathalyzer test result that results in a BAL of 0.08% or greater is considered to be a DUI-related infraction. In Florida, if a police officer pulls you over under the suspicion that you are impaired, he or she will likely ask for you to take a number of tests, including a field sobriety test (i.e. where you are asked to walk in a straight line, etc.) and a chemical test, such as a Breathalyzer.

 

While you certainly can refuse to take any of these tests, it allows an officer to automatically arrest you, who can legally presume you to be intoxicated.  Moreover, one’s refusal to submit to these tests can be used as evidence against the person in a DUI criminal proceeding.  Once arrested, an alleged wrongdoer will receive a 10-day driving permit.  Once the ten days have expired, their license will automatically be suspended for 30 days. Overall, there are several penalties associated with being convicted of a DUI in Florida.  Specifically, for those who are facing their first DUI charge, the penalties include the following:

  • $500 to $2000 in fines
  • 50 hours of community service
  • Probation
  • Imprisonment for up to 9 months
    Video ThumbnailAttorney Bruce Przepis discusses DUI police stops
  • Alcohol treatment in lieu of jail time
  • Vehicle impoundment for 10 days
  • The completion of DUI school
  • Suspension of your license for up to one year
  • 50 hours of community service
  • The mandatory installment of an ignition interlock device for up to 6 months

 

For a second DUI offense, the penalties include:

 

  • $1000 to $5000 in fines
  • Imprisonment for up to 12 months
  • Probation
  • Vehicle impoundment for 30 days
  • Suspension of your license for up to 10 years
  • The completion of DUI school
  • The mandatory installment of an ignition interlock device for up to 2 years

 

For a third DUI offense, the penalties include:

 

  • $2000 to $5000 in fines
  • Imprisonment for up to 12 months
  • License suspension
  • Vehicle impoundment for 90 days
  • Suspension of your license for up to 10 years
  • The completion of DUI school
  • The mandatory installment of an ignition interlock device for up to 2 years

 

Video ThumbnailAttorney Lee Feinberg on Consultations - vimeo Video
Should you face more than three DUI infractions, the legal repercussions are even more severe and can include extended jail time, the long-term or permanent suspension of one’s license, significant monetary penalties and other serious complications.   If this is the situation that you are currently facing, or even if this is your first DI-related office, you need a skilled DUI defense attorney to examine the facts of your case and fight for your legal rights.  Never risk working with an attorney who does not have the skills and experience to effectively defend you.

A distinct possibility of multiple DUI offenses is for you to end up with a felony conviction on your record.  When a court declares you to be a felon there are many negative consequences for you and your family.  Those consequences can last a lifetime.

 

Make sure to work with an attorney that knows the court system within your jurisdiction, regularly practices criminal law, and who knows the law, both inside and out. For more information, or if you are facing DUI-related charges, call one of our experienced attorneys at Ayo and Iken now to schedule your free and completely confidential initial consultation at 1-800-469-3486 or feel free to email us.  We look forward to providing you with superior legal representation.


florida lawyers

Our Attorneys Are Ready to Fight for You!

Over the past 14 years Ayo & Iken has helped over 5,000 people just like you

Our Attorneys Are Ready to Fight for You!

[mobleroster]

Over the past 14 years Ayo & Iken has helped over 5,000 people just like you

Mr. Ponder was excellent in helping me with my case. Was very knowledgeable and understanding would recommend his service to others with similar situations. Would definitely use him again if need be.

Anonymous – Lawyer Ratingz

confidential





Need assistance with this form?

Free Consultation is limited to individuals considering hiring an attorney. Not all situations qualify. Fee charged for appellate case evaluations.

Or email message to:

An Excellent Attorney – I highly recommend Ms. Phillips and her firm, Ayo and Iken as she and they provided me excellent legal services. Their combined expertise and experience laid the foundation for sound footing in the courtroom resulting in an exceptionally good outcome. I have found Ms. Phillips and her firm to be exceptionally ethical and accountable as they treated me with respect, kindness and compassion throughout the course of our case. I add that my questions and concerns were addressed and resolved in a timely manner (which I greatly appreciated) and that everyone I encountered within the Group was proficient in their respective role.

Julia – Avvo